How to make homemade gluten-free mayonnaise

0
540

People following a gluten-free diet should avoid wheat, barley, rye and other foods containing gluten. While, traditionally mayonnaise can be made from natural gluten-free ingredients, often added spices or ingredients could make common market mayonnaise unsuitable for those who are gluten intolerant.

So, if you want to avoid the scrutiny of the supermarket aisles, you can easily make your own mayonnaise at home and ensure that it is gluten-free.

To make the delicious homemade gluten-free mayonnaise, you will need the following ingredients:

1 large egg

1 cup of oil

1 tablespoon (15 mL) of vinegar (e.g. white, red or apple cider vinegar)

1 teaspoon (5 mL) of lemon juice

1/4 teaspoon of salt

additional spices, such as black or white pepper, Dijon mustard, mustard seeds, celery seed

a pinch of sugar (optional)

How to make homemade mayonnaise:

In a small food processor, blend the egg for about 30 seconds. Then add the vinegar and salt and stir for another 30 seconds. Stir slowly, adding the oil – a few drops at a time. If you add too much oil too quickly, your mayonnaise may not thicken properly. Stir in the lemon juice and any additional spices you want to add.

While it’s nice to experiment with different types of oils and vinegars in your homemade mayonnaise recipe, be sure to avoid using malt vinegar or rice vinegar, as they may contain gluten.

In addition, since the eggs used in this recipe are left raw, it may be best to use pasteurized eggs to reduce any risk of food poisoning. Store the homemade mayonnaise in the fridge for up to 14 days. If you notice any smell, mould or a sudden change in the colour of the mayonnaise, it is best to discard it.

ΑΦΗΣΤΕ ΜΙΑ ΑΠΑΝΤΗΣΗ

εισάγετε το σχόλιό σας!
παρακαλώ εισάγετε το όνομά σας εδώ